Our Sioen Semarang plant in Indonesia is WRAP Gold certified

Thanks to our WRAP certification, we can show our potential buyers, current clients and anyone interested that we are dedicated to ethical and responsible business standards. The WRAP Gold certification shows that we are helping to realise SDGs 8, 10 and 12.

WRAP Gold certified

Our Sioen Semarang plant in Indonesia is WRAP Gold certified. This level is awarded to facilities that demonstrate full compliance with WRAP's 12 principles. Being WRAP Gold certified, ensures that garments are being produced under lawful, humane and ethical conditions.


WRAP is an "independent, objective, non-profit team of global social compliance experts dedicated to promoting safe, lawful, humane and ethical manufacturing around the world through certification and education. Their primary activity is the Certification program. WRAP is the largest independent facility certification program in the world focused on apparel, footwear, and sewn products."

There are three levels of certification: Platinum, Gold and Silver. Certification is based on WRAP's 12 Principles.

Why we are WRAP certified

Social compliance is of major compliance to Sioen. Thanks to this certification, we can show our clients, potential buyers and anyone involved that we are dedicated to ethical, humane and responsible working and business standards. It shows that we respect our workers and their rights, that we are conscious of the environmental impact of our actions and that we act lawfully.

The certification process

The first step in the certification process is, obviously, the application, followed by a pre-audit self-assessment. Then, the facility that would like to be certified selects a WRAP-accredited monitoring firm for auditing. WRAP will then review the recommendation report and after approval, WRAP will certify the facility.

Certification levels

As mentioned before, there are three certification levels: Platinum, Gold and Silver.
According to the WRAP website, the levels are described as followed:

Platinum (valid for 2 years)
Platinum certifications are awarded to facilities that have demonstrated full compliance with WRAP's 12 Principles for 3 consecutive certification audits. Platinum facilities must successfully pass every audit with no corrective actions or observations and maintain continuous certification with no gaps between certification periods.

Gold (valid for 1 year)
Gold certification is the standard WRAP certification level, awarded to facilities that demonstrate full compliance with WRAP's 12 Principles.

Silver (valid for 6 months)
WRAP may issue or a facility may request, a Silver certificate if an audit finds it to be in substantial compliance with WRAP's 12 Principles, but identifies minor non-compliances in policies, procedures, or training that must be addressed. Facilities must not have any non-compliances (including child labor; serious health, safety, or environmental issues; prison, forced, or involuntary labor; or harassment or abuse of employees) and must demonstrate that employees are paid at least the legal minimum wage and any required overtime compensation.

12 WRAP Principles

There are 12 WRAP Principles that are used to certify facilities:

  1. Compliance with Laws and Workplace Regulations
  2. Prohibition of forced labour
  3. Prohibition of child labour
  4. Prohibition of harassment and abuse
  5. (Proper) compensation and benefits
  6. Hours of work
  7. Prohibition of discrimination
  8. Health and safety
  9. Freedom of association and collective bargaining
  10. Environment
  11. Customs compliance
  12. Security


The 12 WRAP Principles help us realise SDGs 8, 10 and 12.

Principles 1,2 and 3 are linked to target 8.7: "Take immediate and effective measures to eradicate forced labour, end modern slavery and human trafficking and secure the prohibition and elimination of the worst forms of child labour, including recruitment and use of child soldiers, and by 2025 end child labour in all its forms".

Principles 4, 8 and 9 are linked to target 8.8: "Protect labour rights and promote safe and secure working environments for all workers, including migrant workers, in particular women migrants, and those in precarious employment."

Principle 5 is linked to target 10.4: "Adopt policies, especially fiscal, wage and social protection policies, and progressively achieve greater equality."

Principle 7 is linked to target 10.2: "By 2030, empower and promote the social, economic and political inclusion of all, irrespective of age, sex, disability, race, ethnicity, origin, religion or economic or other status."

And finally Principle 10 is linked to SDG 12: "Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns."